The Book that Changed my life with Eileen Griffin

book_of_imagination_by_vanilladragon666-d30tcqmSo in perfect timing for the festive holidays  I have Eileen vising to tell us all about the book that has changed her life:

Thank you Morgan for hosting me on your blog today.

You’re very welcome…

I grew up in a house full of books with a dad who worked in the publishing industry. To ask for a single book that changed my life or was the most impactful is a difficult thing for me to do since I have so many titles that I love and cherish as “favorites”. However, one book that I instantly loved and go back to re-read because I absolutely resonate with its message is Seventeen Ways to Eat a Mango by Joshua Kadison. The book is written in journal format and is about a young botanist who is sent to a remote tropical island because his company wants to exploit it in order to strip it of its mangos and install a mango cannery. Even though J (the journal’s owner) has every intention of following through with his company’s plans of collecting the necessary data and samples and returning home to collect his paycheck, he instead meets the island sage, named Katchumo, and all his well-thought out plans fall by the wayside. During J’s stay on the island, Katchumo helps him see the beauty that he’d never really noticed before but was always present in his life and forces him to question everything from his association with the canning company to his perception of the world around him by teaching him the seventeen ways to eat a mango.

GetAttachment.aspxI love this book and keep it on my bookshelf of “special books” because I absolutely adore the lessons Joshua Kadison dispenses to his readers. A singer/song-writer himself, the book reads more like poetry than it does prose and really forces the reader to look past what the actual story is to more of “how can I integrate these lessons into my own life”. Katchumo teaches J to eat a mango like a child, to eat it while singing, and to eat it by giving it away. However, my favorite lesson is to eat a mango in your own way – without anyone telling you how to eat it, because only then can you truly enjoy it. Sadly this book is out of print and you can’t find it in bookstores, but if you happen to stumble across it I whole-heartedly recommend it. It’s one of my absolute favorites J

~Eileen

I’m not sure that’s entirely fair. I now want to read this book and can’t order it straight away. I’ll just have to resign myself to searching in second hand book shops – luckily that’s my idea of fun. 

And talking of fun Eileen’s new book sounds rather delicious!

Dinner For Two Md

BLURB:

 

Sonia Davenport has dreams of coordinating and planning special events. When she’s given the opportunity to plan a dinner for her boss and his shareholders, she jumps at the chance to make everything perfect. Helping her plan the special night is the head chef of the restaurant, Tony Mancinni, who is not only charming but goes out of his way to make Sonia feel special during the entire planning process.

 

The dinner party almost turns disastrous when an employee mixes up the orders and sets out the wrong food. In a mad rush to save the dinner, Sonia and Tony realize their attraction to each other when things heat up in the kitchen. However, Tony has to convince Sonia that he wants more than just an extra set of hands in his restaurant – he wants her to stay the night so he can convince her to stay for good.

 

EXCERPT:

 

Tony gently rubbed his finger along her bottom lip. “I had hoped everything would be perfect tonight because I wanted to impress you. When you came in for brunch that first Sunday and laid out your plans, not only were you beautiful, but you had a detailed description of what you wanted. On the catering side of things, you have no idea how attractive that is. Then, when you came in for your tasting, I didn’t think I was going to make it through the afternoon without asking you out. But I have a strict rule: Don’t date the clients until after the function is over. So I waited. Do you have any idea how hard it was to wait?”

Sonia shook her head slightly, then let her lips part. Instead of replying to him, she slid her tongue out to meet his finger, gently caressing the tip. He hissed in a breath, his eyes fixated on her tongue and lips. Feeling emboldened by his words, she leaned closer and drew his finger deeper inside her mouth, wrapping her lips around it as she laved it with her tongue.

“Sonia,” he whispered. “You’re so beautiful. But I didn’t ask you up here for this.”

She leaned back, his finger sliding out of her mouth. All the nerves and doubts she’d felt earlier were replaced by a heat that was coursing through her. She’d felt it all night in the kitchen with him and it was stronger now that she knew he wanted her as badly as she wanted him.

“I’m glad you asked me up here, Tony. But if we’re being honest with each other, I think dinner can wait. You see, I’ve lost my appetite. For food, that is.”

Now this one you can get hold of straight away!!!

Amazon.com    Evernight   Allromance 

EILEEN GRIFFIN BIO:

Eileen Griffin lives in the Southwest but loves to travel and has spent many summers crossing Europe with nothing but a backpack on her back. She enjoys TexMex, lives for good wine, and has a certain penchant for purple unicorns. She loves reading all genres of books, but her current obsession is writing M/M with lots of boy kissing.

Blog:  http://www.eileengriffin.wordpress.com

Twitter:  http://www.twitter.com/eileengriffin77  @eileengriffin77

Facebook:  http://www.facebook.com/eileen.griffin

Evernight:  http://www.evernightpublishing.com/eileen-griffin/

Goodreads:  https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7231778.Eileen_Griffin

3 thoughts on “The Book that Changed my life with Eileen Griffin

Leave a Reply

